November 1st is here and is mostly a welcome sight.

The hoopla with Halloween is essentially over, except for the huge amounts of candy still floating about. I helped out during Phoebe’s classroom “Harvest Celebration.” (Why can’t we just call it a Halloween party when that is exactly what it was–costumes, jack-o-lantern decorating and all?!?) Later, we had a great time trick or treating with Phoebe’s friend from school and her mom while Alex and Ray stayed home and greeted the six kids that came trick or treating to our place.

November 1st also means that the holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s and everything in between) are fast approaching. It very likely also means yet another big holiday away from my friends and family. I miss them something fierce and it’s already been over 14 months since I’ve seen them.

Aside from all of that, you may wonder why I am here…at this new place. Well… as it turns out the place where my site is actually hosted is down for the foreseeable future, unfortunately. There was a hardware failure of some sort. The problem with that is it is located somewhere near(ish) to our home in Michigan. A daunting 2,300-ish miles away from our present location in Washington. Not quite a “I’ll run over to the place and see what’s up” kind of jaunt. Anyhow… until that is resolved (and, I do hope it does get resolved), I will be writing here. The timing was just ever so lovely to be two days before NaBloPoMo was to begin!

